The Playground of Ohio

Before Cedar Point, before Kings Island, there was Buckeye Lake, aka “The Playground of Ohio.”

Ah, summer!  It might be just around the corner, but this last block is sooooooo long.  Where  else to forget the cold and think of fun, fun, fun!   My final is next week, and I’ve been studying for it, but you know what?  The thrill of that particular class has left me.

I got to town before the museum opened, and decided to drive around town.  How could anyone drive past this sign?

blog post photo

The food is great, and the restaurant is filled with fishing memorabilia.  The owner was very gracious in allowing me to take pictures, which I’ll share with you in a future blog.

On to the museum!
blog post photo

This is the first log cabin in the area.
blog post photo
blog post photo

From the old post office.
blog post photo

blog post photo
blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo
blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

The owner of the above mentioned restaurant told me the museum had one of the old planes from the ride, but when I pulled into the parking lot and saw the size of the building, I thought that would not be possible.  Those planes were HUGE.  (To the young child that I was when I rode the rocket.)

blog post photo
The museum director pointed out the lack of safety harnesses in the old silver sky rocket ride.  I rode it once when I was quite young and remember looking out over the park and NOT being afraid.  Heights scare me, but not when I’m on a plane, or rocket, apparently.

My picture – oh!    Thankfully, Spanky gave his permission for me to block my image with his.
blog post photo
blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo
blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

The Museum, http://www.buckeyelakehistory.org, located on State Route 79 is open year ’round, Tuesdays through Sundays, from 1:00 until 4:00 p.m.   Admission is a $4 donation for adults.
blog post photo

blog post photo

To keep in the spirit of summer, I purchased a three pack of “fragrant lily” bulbs and blueberry plants.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

