Stonewall Cemetery

When I was a student at North Elementary School, I learned about a local cemetery that apparently was deeded to whichever president of the United States was in office.
blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo
This past week I decided that visiting Stonewall Cemetery would be my Saturday morning “vacation” and a relaxing excursion it was.  The grounds are in excellent condition, thanks to the Fairfield County Historical Park system.

blog post photo

blog post photo
Even to my untrained eye, it is obvious the wall is made of sandstone.  I had read that this is an example of dry masonry (no mortar).  I also understand that this is a one of a kind cemetery.
blog post photo

blog post photo
blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo
This is it as to my knowledge, and unfortunately, there was little information online.  Here are a few links (and as I am not stealing the results of anyone else’s research, I will not quote anything I learned):
From a Lancaster Eagle Gazette article:
http://www.forgottenoh.com/News/stonewallarticle.html.

http://www.visitfairfieldcounty.org/cemeteries.php

http://www.graveaddiction.com/stonewall.html

http://www.clevermag.com/travel2/stonewall.htm

You might find this humorous.   When I was at the cemetery taking pictures, I thought, “This place is so peaceful.  Who would ever think it would be haunted?”    I went about my day, and didn’t have time to download my camera until well after dark.  Yes, I got scared while sizing the pictures, and yes, I decided to wait until today to finish them, and yes, I took light reading to bed with me so that I would be thinking of other things as I drifted off to sleep.
blog post photo

blog post photo

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

