Singles in Agriculture – Columbus Washboard Factory

Several years ago I signed up for http://www.meetup.com; until recently there hasn’t been anything of interest.  Today there was a hike through Ohio Caverns, but I already had plans.  By chance I saw that a singles group was planning an event in the Hocking Hills: an expedition to the Columbus Washboard Factory, a tour of Hocking County Historical Society, a walk into Ash Cave, dinner at a buffet, and a square dance.  (I skipped the dinner and dance.)

Last summer Family Friend and I missed the Washboard and I’ve been curious about the place ever since.

The Washboard Factory has four employees and buys the raw materials locally whenever possible.

An entire washing system is sold at cost (and donated to those who cannot afford the $25) to Armed Services members deployed in Afghanistan and Iraq.

Although we learned how to play a washboard, I doubt I’ll be invited to jam with Creedence Clearwater Revival any time soon.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

