San Toy

This morning I lounged around the house, not knowing how to spend the day.  To me it is a grievous sin to waste time and not make the most of every precious moment, but the cold rain didn’t entice me to go outdoors.It was down to cleaning house (ugh!) or having a self-administered beauty parlor day.  My poor hair always needs attention.

My phone sang!!!  Oh, Holy Night has been my ring tone for nearly a year, and Josh will continue to let me know when the outside world beckons.

It was Family Friend!!!   Although he is young enough to be my son, we have a lot in common, most specifically, we love, love, love to explore weird places.

Did I want to go somewhere?

Did I ever!

Where?

He’d told me all about a ghost town in the corner of Perry County, and I’ve been wanting to go there ever since.  He doesn’t often get Sundays off, and I can’t get away on week-days, so this was it!  I cannot go by myself because there is no cell phone coverage and I do tend to lose my way at times.

There was nothing spooky about San Toy, but it was a fascinating bit of history.  The jail could be restored or made into a cute little cottage, but I struggle to keep up with housework and definitely am not the person to restore a building.  However, I could not help but imagine how it would look.

First, we stopped at the mine shafts.
blog post photo

blog post photo

We then went inside this ruin:
blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

This brick was mortared upside down.

blog post photo

We found only one marked “Athens Block.”
blog post photo

Just across the road is the old jail.  I did not capture the Pepsi can tossed onto the floor.

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo
blog post photo

blog post photo
In front and at the side of the jail, more ruins:

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

For more information about San Toy, please visit:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/San_Toy,_Ohio

http://www.forgottenoh.com/SanToy/santoy.html

http://www.ghosttowns.com/states/oh/santoy.html

http://www.forgottenoh.com/News/stoy2.html

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

