Road Trip to Point Pleasant, Part III of III

At the end of our visit to Point Pleasant, B.D. and I took pictures of the monument to Chief Cornstalk, his final resting spot in Tu-Endie-Wei Park.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cornstalk

According to the legend, as he lay dying he cursed his assassins.

“I was the border man’s friend. Many times I have saved him and his people from harm. I never warred with you, but only to protect our wigwams and lands. I refused to join your paleface enemies with the red coats. I came to the fort as your friend and you murdered me. You have murdered by my side, my young son…. For this, may the curse of the Great Spirit rest upon this land. May it be blighted by nature. May it even be blighted in its hopes. May the strength of its peoples be paralyzed by the stain of our blood.”
http://www.prairieghosts.com/cornstalk.html

The Sallie Marmet Anchor.

Water Panther Stone:

The River Museum was closed for the holiday.


Some of the pictures are quite water logged.  On Labor day, it rained from Athens down to Pomeroy and all the way back to Athens.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

