Portsmouth’s Local Hero

Spanky and I got up early (for a Saturday morning) to help Santa and also celebrate Frank Sinatra’s birthday.  After enjoying Strangers in the Night and My Way on youtube, we watched two of our favorite Christmas songs:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jlf—13Q0g
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zQWXfHzOKUU
Josh is so wonderful that I would consider remarrying (if he asked me), but he’s too young, not to mention I would have to fight Melissa for him.  Since Melissa and I have been friends for years, it would be awkward to get into a knock-down, drag-out over a guy.  Since we are both peace lovers, I guess it wouldn’t happen.
We have also been working on pictures from last week’s trip to Portsmouth.  Spanky was unable to accompany me as he had a personal appearance obligation as the Ringo Starr Peace and Love 2009 spokesmodel, but he always enjoys hearing about my adventures.  We had to wait until today because by the time I get home from work it is dark outside and looking at cemetery pictures spooks me.  I think it scares Spanky, too, but he never says much, possibly to keep up his macho image.
From the murals, it is possible to walk or drive right down to the river!  It was chilly Sunday, but nothing like it is today.  B.D. called me while I was in Portsmouth and when I told her I was walking down by the river, she told me not to get too close!   Yeah, I know.  I am a klutz.  I didn’t go to the edge of the river, mainly because of the windchill coming off the water.

blog post photo

According to a brochure, “Green Lawn” cemetery is located east on Kinneys Lane, but “St. Mary’s” was scrolled at the top of the wrought iron fence enclosing the graveyard.   This monument immediately caught my eye.  Her last words:  Save my baby.

blog post photo

http://www.irontontribune.com/news/2004/apr/18/could-lawrence-county-capitalize-on-its-history/?print

Rest well, Ms. Bessie.

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

Next time, a spooky local cemetery, by request.
P.S.  In the interest of full disclosure and honesty, I must admit that Spanky is not really a Ringo Starr Peace and Love spokesmodel.  He’s “just” a cat.  The most wonderful cat on earth.  And THAT’S no exaggeration.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

