Moonville, Here We Come!!!

My birthday was a couple of days ago, and although I survived it (thanks to #1 Son, B.D., L.W., grand frère and #1 Grandson the Elder and #1 Grandson the Younger) quite enjoyably, it made me think that time’s a-wastin’.   Yesterday I finally hooked up a laser printer I bought used from an office, without the installation CD.  I downloaded the print driver and added the printer. It took longer than it should have because I had a Married with Children marathon playing in the background.  Then I baked a flan, something I’ve always wanted, but had never tried.  I don’t keep sugar in the house so I bought a small bag of brown sugar instead of granulated white.  The flan still was wonderful!   Last night, while shopping, I impulsively had my ears repierced.

Today Family Friend pulled up around 10:00 for our long anticipated trip to Moonville.  We’ve both read about it, and have wanted to visit for two or three years.  Today was sunny and warm (for the end of November) and both of us had the day off, so on down Route 33  we drove.  I wore my new cross necklace, just in case we ran into anything evil.

FF pointed out that since we both wore red (he by design, I because my oldest coat happened to be that color) we might be “safer” from possible deer hunters.

The road to Moonville is just left of Lake Hope, so Wheelaround Road was easy enough to find.   According to a website, the road would go from paved to gravel, and at a steel bridge we follow the trestle.  FF’s first instinct was right, but we kept driving because – I don’t know why.  We went up the road which was now steep, curvy and narrow.  “Don’t look over the side…”  I didn’t.   There was a road that came off sharply to the right, and I thought we should turn there.

After several miles we turned around, “Bad Moon Risin'” playing – no one could make that up – and came back.  “It’s there!  On the right!”  Sure enough, it was right by the steel bridge, all along.

We walked a path next to a river and through a woods.  When we reached the top – FF is younger and faster so he beat me by several yards – FF said, “Carol.”  What?  I was looking at the abandoned trestle on the right.  He was looking at the famous Moonville tunnel on the left!!!

We walked through, looking for the Moonville Cemetery.  Two hikers showed us a map, telling us about Pioneer Cemetery on Shay Road.  We decided to go back toward the main highway to see if we could find Shay Road.  We did.  We drove for several miles, finding Hope School and Hope Chapel, and eventually turned around.   We could find neither Pioneer nor Moonville Cemetery.  FF noticed a red wooden cross across the road from Hope School which we thought might lead to one of the graveyards, but it didn’t.

We stopped at Lake Hope’s ranger station where an attendant explained that Moonville Cemetery was just past Moonville Tunnel.  “The first road that makes a sharp turn.”  Aha, FF found the tunnel, and I found the cemetery!

We walked up the hill – there was no road sign and no mention of the cemetery – just a long and winding road.  On the right stood a large pine tree through a woods.  “That’s it!”  We kept walking instead of taking the path, and when we saw an American flag through the trees, we knew we found it!  Although Ideliae Jones appears to be something of a local celebrity, all we could find about her was this findagrave tribute: http://www.findagrave.com/cgi-bin/fg.cgi?page=gr&GRid=30446588.

We stopped at two other places, but those pictures are for another day.

On the way back, Born to Run sang on my phone.   It was #1 Son, on his way to the house with his brother-in-law with a truckload of wood – for moi!!!

I hope I don’t have nightmares or other vivid dreams tonight, but sometimes adventures overstimulate my imagination.

Back to the real world tomorrow!

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

