King Tunnel

I hadn’t had time to scale down my Marietta pictures before I had the chance for a last chance trip down to King Tunnel (near Moonville Tunnel).

I stopped at a local grocery store to pick up provisions for the trek and did the old “slip and fall” when I walked over a few drops of water on the floor.  Several people asked me if I was ok, and I was, and not even embarrassed.  However, going down was quite an acrobatic feat as I ended up with one leg going around in what felt like circles.

Armed with bananas, dark chocolate bars (I much prefer milk chocolate) and Coca Cola Zero, we headed down Route 33.  We turned right in Nelsonville toward Lake Hope and then back a narrow gravel road (more like a country lane) up hills and around curves for what seemed to be miles.  Then we walked down a path, and there it was!

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

My companion commented that my speed picked up considerably as we walked through the tunnel.

Could it be that I was afraid?  Most definitely.  Those old timbers looked mighty strong, but still…

And what about those creepy cold blooded things?   What if they showed up?

I wasn’t worried about apparitions, but then again, I would never go there after dark.

blog post photo

Back to Nelsonville.  Here’s the old school.

blog post photo

blog post photo

Then to a diner, a good ol’ fashioned “mom and pop” (or perhaps “mom”).

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

On the way home, we made a w-i-d-e swing by Mudhouse Mansion.  This was as close as we dared.

blog post photo

blog post photo

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

