Ike Slapped Central Ohio – but We Prevailed!

My power was out Monday, so I cleaned myself up the best that I could and drove to Columbus, stopping at Meijer on the way up to buy jugs of water for my dogs.  Living in the country means a pump which requires electricity, and although I can drink Coca Cola Zero, my dogs need plain ol’ H2O.

When I got to work, pretending Broad Street and I-71 had a four way stop (the light was out), I found out my efforts were in vain.  Our building had no power, and we were excused for the day.

What to do?  Sit around all day and read?  Take naps?

I’d been wanting to take a steamboat ride on the Ohio River, but after stopping at a friend’s house – a friend with POWER and everything else! – via Internet I found out boat rides are only on week-ends this late in the year.

What else?

How about driving to Newark?  I’d never seen the Indian mounds, and I had a day free, and certainly nothing at home to occupy my time.  The park is beautiful!
blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo
blog post photo

blog post photo
No walking on the mounds is allowed, but paths show that some people just cannot resist.
blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo
Ike did some damage to several large trees.

blog post photo
blog post photo

blog post photo
blog post photo
The park is open all year round during daylight hours.  Admission is free.

For more information about the 2,000 year old Hopewell Indian Mounds, please visit
http://ohsweb.ohiohistory.org/places/c08/greatcircle.shtml.

P.S.  Good job, South Central!  My power was restored around 7:00 p.m. Monday, much to my delight.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

