I Just Got Back from Lincoln’s Funeral

Today after reading about Heritage Museum on Town Street, I knew what my lunch plans would be.   The Heritage Museum was designed by George Bellows, built in 1852, and served as the Governor’s Mansion during the Civil War.  It was restored and is maintained by Kappa Kappa Gamma.  It is open to the public and a donation is appreciated but not required.

blog post photo

I wouldn’t achieve my two mile a day goal as the Museum was only a few blocks from work, but sometimes we just have to bite the bullet and “sacrifice.”

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

The tour guide told me there are tales of a lady in pink on the second floor, and lights unexplainably burning.

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

Leaving the mansion, I saw ladies approach.  Being shy never gets anyone anywhere.   I used to be too shy to speak to strangers, but I just had to know…      Are you ghosts or actors?

blog post photo

They weren’t ghosts, and posed for pictures.  Dressed in mourning for Mr. Lincoln, they work at a mansion down the street which we will explore another time.

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

As I was crossing the street at the Topiary Garden entrance, I spotted this gentleman, returning from Mr. Lincoln’s funeral at the State House.    He graciously posed.  Is the funeral still going on?  Yes, he believed it was.

blog post photo

blog post photo

I took off!  My pedometer was going to get a better work-out than I previously planned.

Here are a few pictures of President Lincoln in Repose.

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

