Greenlawn Abbey

F.F. and I have been wanting to tour Greenlawn Abbey (no connection with Greenlawn Cemetery other than it is located on the same avenue) since we first heard about it.  Since F.F. had to work today and I was off, I went to represent both of us.  The parking attendant said it the Abbey is open to the public twice a year: Memorial Day and Hallowe’en.  Luckily, admission is free on Memorial Day, but costs on All Hallows’ Eve.  (I won’t be within miles of the place on Hallowe’en.)

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

This entire room was purchased (rented? leased?) by one family, but has never been used.   Note the “crypt lifter.”

blog post photo

Lancaster residents might be interested to know that I.J. Collins (founder of Anchor Hocking, commonly known as “Anchor” or “The Hockin'” depending upon your perspective) and his wife are currently residing at the Abbey.  Other residents include J.C. Penney’s brother, Lewis Sells of the famous Sells Brothers Circus and Howard Thurston, “internationally famous 20th century magician.”

blog post photo

I didn’t venture inside any of the “rooms” and did not participate in a guided tour or the scavenger hunt.    It was a beautifully organized event, but claustrophobic female + over-active imagination + people interred in drawers inside a building with only one door per floor (as far as I could see, and if you knew me, you would realize the first thing I locate in any new circumstance is the exit sign) = anxiety attack.  I didn’t have one, because I got myself into my little chariot and drove off, wishing I had instead gone back to the Moonshine Festival.

For more information, please visit www.greenlawnabbey.org.

On a circuitous route home, I swung by Camp Chase Confederate cemetery, which with its centographs and open spaces and big chestnut trees, is definitely not scary.  Ceremonies started at 12:30, but this volunteer said he is always early (it was 11:00).  I pretended he is “my” Valentine and left before the festivities began.

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

