Dr. Roller’s Rock Garden

The Wagnalls Memorial held a book sale today, so I stopped in the City of Stone (Lithopolis) on the way home.  I parked on the street instead of the lot behind the building (if such a magnificent structure can be called a “building”) so I had to walk all the way around to the basement of the administration section.   Magazines were a quarter apiece so I now in possession of articles explaining how to start a prairie garden, 10 best natives for country gardens (one publication) and colors that make a man’s heart race, 10 new rules for success, and 7 belly busting tips to get rid of muffin top.

Dr. Roller’s rock garden is now part of Wagnalls, but when I was a small child, it was next to his office.   Dr. Roller had all kinds of pills in bottles – he might have even had a mortar and pestle – sitting on shelves.  Dr. Roller was a dying breed: a doctor who made house calls.  As I recall, he had a car for “town” and a car for “country” driving.  I remember him visiting me when at the age of five or six I was confined with Old Fashioned Measles or German Measles, whichever was the more serious.  The walls of my bedroom must have looked like something out of London during the blitz with covers over the windows to keep out the light.   By the times my kids were born, we didn’t have to know anything about mealses due to the measles-mumps-rubella vaccine.

Dr. Roller was a world traveler, as the many pictures of the Aurora Borealis on his wall would attest.    Did I mention that they were in black and white?

On the way back to my garden, I stopped to take a few photos, and to really look at the rock garden.  How many times have I driven past?  Thousands?  How many times over the years have I been on the grounds?  Hmm… movies at Wagnalls, including viewing Help! as a teen-ager.  Taking (they might term it “dragging”) #1 Son and B.D. to story hours and puppet shows and checking out books and magazines and records and videos at least once a week…

While shooting, I noticed two stone lions.   They were new to me!  My mother used to say (probably with great hope but not a lot of faith) that I should learn something new every day.  Today I opened up my eyes and I did.

There were a few more pictures to take, but “battery exhausted” flashed on the screen.  After putting in a full day at work and driving home using a detour due Route 33 being closed, I have to admit I was exhausted, too.

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

