Camp Chase

I volunteer to take pictures for www.findagrave.com, a site I would recommend to anyone interested in history.   Camp Chase is located on the west side of Columbus, on the north side of Sullivant Avenue and slightly west of Hague Avenue.   Even though I am a lifelong resident of Central Ohio, the first time I ever set foot in Camp Chase was the winter of 2007 to fulfill a request from a descendant of a Confederate soldier who died in captivity.   One stone caught my eye, a certain Pvt. James C. Valentine, who is now my personal Valentine. 
blog post photo

blog post photo

Although I ran a search for his records, I found very little.  I’d be happy just to learn his date of birth.  Even though today’s mission was to find Martin Jasper Thacker of Tennessee, of course I stopped at my Valentine’s grave!  Camp Chase is stark and sad, but the graves are easy to find since they are numbered.

Here are a few pictures from today’s “vacation” (my lunch break).
blog post photo
blog post photo
blog post photo
blog post photo
blog post photo
blog post photo

blog post photo

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

