Brick Making, 1800s Style

Since I didn’t have to work this week-end, I decided I would spend part of my time resting and another block of time organizing my house.

Instead, I ended up at a veterinary clinic worried sick (literally) about one of my dogs.  He’s been my companion since the week JFK, Jr.’s plane went down, and a lot of water has trickled, rolled, cascaded and tumbled under the bridge since then.   He’s better today and today is all we have, so back to life.

Did I absolutely have to work around the house, or was a little excursion in order?

blog post photo
On to Slate Run where we learned to make bricks.

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

We also learned how our forefathers made barrels and brooms.

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

I don’t know what this is.

blog post photo

At the barn, we learned how to cut slate (slate was imported – there is no slate at Slate Run) for roofs.

blog post photo

blog post photo

blog post photo

Admission is free at Slate Run.

There are ripe tomatoes on the vine, and you will never know how tempted I was to pocket one or two.  However, I was good.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

